When Snapchat Delete on Snaps and Chats
Snapchatters who see your messages can always save them, either by taking a screenshot or by using some other image-capture technology whether that be software or even something as old-fashioned as a camera to take a photo of their device’s screen. Please check in below:
Delete is our default 👻. Which means most messages sent through the Snapchat application will be automatically deleted once they have been viewed or have expire.
- Snaps: Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete Snaps after they’ve been viewed by all recipients. Opened Snaps typically cannot be retrieved from Snapchat’s servers by anyone, for any reason. Also, Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete unopened Snaps after 30 days.
- Chats: Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete a message sent in Chat after you and the recipient have both viewed it and swiped out of the Chat screen unless either of you press and hold to save it.
- My Story: Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete Snaps you post to your Story 24 hours after you post each Snap.
- Live Stories: If you submit a Snap to a Live Story or Local Story, we may archive the Snap and allow it to be viewed again through Snapchat or other sources.
- Memories: Memories holds the Snaps and Stories you save so you can reminisce anytime. Content you save to Memories is backed up by Snapchat.